Skip to content

Why Erotica?

January 29, 2012

Dude, why NOT?

I wrote erotica for years. Again, it was the whole “writing is the art that I’m good at” thing. I posted several stories on Fictionmania, and that was really about it. I always view the smut as a hobby. It never occurred to me to write and sell it until I found myself checking out a few stories in the TG erotica genre on Amazon. There aren’t many. There’s probably a reason for that, but I figured that I could do that. I pulled some of what I thought were my best from FM, polished them up, and created the collection Variations. I posted Variations about the same time that I posted Twice Around, and the rest is history.

Sort of.

See, for a while it was tough to say what I was doing for money. See, I currently live in rural Arkansas (as I pointed out to a friend of mine, Arkansas does not faff about when it comes to the term “rural.”). I love it here, and I won’t hear a word said against it, but the fact is that I live around a great many folks who simply would not accept a smut writer. I tell them that I write short fiction under a pen name, and that’s usually enough to fend them off. If they insist, I tell them that it’s biology-oriented, which throws the rest of them off.

I can count the number of people here who know what I write on one hand. None of them want to know this pen name. I’m okay with that.

See, I’m not ashamed of what I do. I find it amusing when someone says something along the lines of, “So when you make enough money writing…that stuff, then you can stop and write what you really want to write!” It’s usually said with a sunny smile and a relieved tone, as if they found out my plan. Well, no, they didn’t. I am writing what I like to write. This is the plan.

So why do I write under a pen name and not tell people about my stories? It’s simple: there’s a vast distance between “being ashamed of what I do” and “rubbing it in peoples’ faces.” I like living here, and I like the people here. People like me. I think that there are a lot of folks who might lose their good opinion of me if they knew what I wrote, so I don’t bother them with it. If they ask me flat-out, then I won’t lie. Thankfully, I live in a place where people don’t like to pry. I also have friends here and on the ‘net who are fully aware of what I do, and they’re fine with it. Works for me!

Checking my work:

Just released the story Changes of Heart, which is my Avoi Valentine’s Day story this year. It’s a pretty long one, weighing in at 23k words and some change, but I’m gonna leave it at $2.99 for now in celebration of the season. Alternately, I’m leaving it at $2.99 right now in a cynical effort to cash in on the season. Your choice! It’s currently available on Smashwords and All Romance, and the link up there goes to the Amazon page.

I’m about halfway through a sci-fi bodyswap story, which is always fun. This one features space travel!

blah blah, unicorn story, blah blah.

Cheers!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 15:58

    I find that, while I don’t write a lot of straight up smut, most of my fiction has some element of sexuality to it, and it can be pretty graphic sexuality at times, as well. Particularly Terminal Monday, which has several graphic sex sequences that got it labelled Erotica, even though it’s really story heavy. That said, I’m also planning on publishing a collection of erotic shorts, so it’s not something I have rules against. I’m just picky about what I consider good smut. 😉

    BTW, I do most of my posting on my main WP blog, leeedwardmcilmoyle.wordpress.com, where I talk a lot about writing and music and stuff, in case you’re interested in reading abotu more than my video game fetish.

    • January 30, 2012 09:14

      Nothing wrong with a little story with your smut, or vice versa. We’re sexual creatures, after all, and there’s nothing wrong with exploring that. If it helps your ambitions at all, my very first collection, Variations, is my best-seller by FAR.

      I’m also a gamer. I’m often found on City of Heroes, or lately Skyrim.

  2. January 30, 2012 00:33

    I feel like a closeted writer, too. What you gonna do? Writing is spilling your guts, turning yourself inside out, so, sorry world, if we wear a mask. Thanks for sharing, ‘Maxwell’.

Leave a Reply

